Food Sovereignty Prize

graphic with food sov prize winners

Join the virtual 2023 Food Sovereignty Prize Ceremony on Thursday, December 14 at 3:30pm (PST), 4:30pm (MST), 5:30pm (CST), 6:30pm (EST and Haiti time) REGISTER HERE

Now in its 15th year, the Food Sovereignty Prize is awarded annually by the US Food Sovereignty Alliance (USFSA) to one domestic and one international organization, in alignment with our values. Prize winners have shown an exemplary commitment to food sovereignty, rural democratic control, responsible stewardship of our Earth, and a restructuring of the food economy. The honorees are being recognized for promoting food sovereignty by:

  • Raising public awareness, organizing on-the-ground action, and/or developing and implementing programs and policies,
  • Recognizing the importance of collective action in bringing about social change,
  • Building global linkages into their work, and
  • Prioritizing the leadership of women, indigenous peoples, people of color, migrant workers and other food providers marginalized by the global food system.

Food Sovereignty Prize Background

The Food Sovereignty Prize was first awarded in 2009 as an alternative to the World Food Prize founded by “the father of the Green Revolution,” the late Norman Borlaug. While the World Food Prize emphasizes increased production through technology, the Food Sovereignty Prize champions solutions coming from those most impacted by the injustices of the global food system. In honoring those who are taking back their food systems, the Food Sovereignty Prize affirms that nothing short of the true democratization of our food system will enable us to end hunger once and for all.

The Food Sovereignty Prize was developed by the International Links Committee of the Community Food Security Coalition and is awarded by the US Food Sovereignty Alliance.

2023 Food Sovereignty Prize Recipients

Domestic Winner: Black Dirt Farm Collective (Brandywine, MD)
International Winner: Mouvman Peyizan Papay (Papaye Peasant Movement; Haiti)


Past Food Sovereignty Prize Recipients

2022 Prize Recipients

Domestic Winner: Western Organization of Resource Councils (Billings, MT)
International Winner: Food Sovereignty Ghana (Ghana)

2021 Prize Recipients

Domestic Winner: Eastern Woodlands Rematriation (New England)
International Winner: Federación Nacional Sindical Unitaria Agropecuaria (Colombia)

2020 Prize Recipients

Domestic Winner: Somali Bantu Community Association (Lewiston, ME)
International Winner: All Nepal Peasants’ Federation (Nepal)

2019 Prize Recipients
Domestic: Urban Tilth (Richmond, CA)
International: Plan Pueblo a Pueblo (Plan People to People; Venezuela)

2018 Prize Recipients
Domestic: Black Mesa Water Coalition (Flagstaff, AZ)
International: Organización Boricuá (Puerto Rico)

2017 Prize Recipients
Domestic: North American Marine Alliance (Gloucester, MA)
International: Zimbabwe Smallholder Organic Farmers Forum (Zimbabwe)

2016 Prize Recipients
Domestic: Farmworker Association of Florida (Apopka, FL)
International: Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa (Uganda)

2015 Prize Recipients
Domestic: Federation of Southern Cooperatives/Land Assistance Fund (East Point, Georgia)
International: Black Fraternal Organization of Honduras (Honduras)

2014 Prize Recipients
Domestic: Community to Community Development (Bellingham, WA)
International: Union of Agricultural Work Committees (Palestine)

2013 Prize Recipients
Winner: Group of 4, and Dessalines Brigade/Via Campesina (Haiti & South America)
Honorable Mentions: Basque Country Peasants’ Solidarity (Basque Country); Coordination of Peasant Organizations (Mali); Tamil Nadu Women’s Collective (India)

2012 Prize Recipients
Winner: Korean Women’s Peasant Association (Korea)
Honorable Mentions: Unified Peasant Movement of the Aguan Region (Honduras); National Fisheries Solidarity Movement (Sri Lanka); Coalition of Immokalee Workers (Immokalee, FL)

2011 Prize Recipients
Winner: Landless Workers Movement of Brazil (Brazil)
Honorable Mentions: Movimiento Campesino á Campesino (South America); South Central Farmers; The Grow Biointensive Agricultural Center of Kenya (Kenya)

2010 Prize Recipients
Winner: Family Farm Defenders (Madison, WI)
Honorable Mentions: The Detroit Black Community Food Security Network (Detroit, MI); The Network of West African Peasant and Agricultural Producers’ Organizations (West Africa); The Working Group on Indigenous Food Sovereignty (Canada)

2009 Prize Recipients
Winner: La Via Campesina (Global)
Honorable Mentions: Community Alliance for Global Justice (Seattle, WA); International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (Kenya); Toronto Food Policy Council (Canada)

Calondra McArthur image